2015 SPRING – SEPTEMBER TO NOVEMBER

This is a continuous spring diary and I will add to it as the season progresses. Check photos for dates as I have done progressive photos for many plants.

We’re a month in to Spring and it’s been beautiful so far. Plenty of rain now and then to fill the tank – not much sign of the El Nino. We did get one hot day just after I planted heaps of seed and I am waiting anxiously to see if they survived and will make a show. Beginning to suspect I will have to replant all the carrots and some other things. (NOTE: I ended up buying bought carrot seedlings for the first time ever. They’re growing well though I probably should have thinned them more.)

Plenty going on in the garden. I’ve already had to mow twice and will probably do so again today. Bummer. The down side to the warm season. But it does give me clippings for the beds.

The Elderflower are growing well (Elaine warns to keep them contained as they sucker – mine grow freely) and producing lots of heads for making Elderflower Champagne.

Two heads in the bowl with juice of a lemon, splash of vinegar and about a cup of sugar. Covered and left for a day or two before sieving into some plastic bottles and put away in a dark cupboard.

The batch turned out quite thick. I’m diluting it with filtered rain water to drink. Nice and fizzy.

The bed in the front yard was becoming overgrown with these beautiful but basically useless (even the bees don’t visit) salvia. A big mess of them have been removed to allow for something more productive – the roots went to Rozie for growing and the tops were cut back as green manure. The bed is covered in composted horse poo and planted…..

…with Bolivian Cuc (c/- Dave via Elaine) and some silverbeet “Ruby”. I don’t have much luck growing silverbeet from seed. One of Elaine’s walking onions shoved in there as well with the hope that it will thrive and proliferate.

Below – same bed one month later.

Also in the front yard the Red Tamarillo fruit is starting to colour up.

NOTE: 31.10.15 Many have gone pale red and been eaten. Nice.

Both Pomegranates (seedling and Wonderful) have copious beautiful tangerine blooms. Fingers crossed for some fruit.

Five or so weeks later fruit is forming on the seedling Pom…..

….and on the Wonderful.

27.09.15 The Jaboticaba is covered in buds! Lots of fruit coming from this reliable plant.

Six weeks later I have sweet fruit for the eating.

Final crop along with a Bitter Melon for the GV. This lot were especially sweet.

Ripening fruit from the two pawpaw has been going to work for the clients to have with morning tea. There is only so much ripe pawpaw one person can eat but the elderly members can’t seem to get enough of it.

The Tropical Nectarine has flowered and is covered in little fruit. I trimmed it a little shorter this year so the fruit fly excluding net would reach the ground.

NOTE: 31.10.15 Not as much fruit as last season – others have said the same –  but it’s coming along nicely.

16.11.15 Lot’s of the fruit is dropping and rotting for no known reason. Weather? The few I’ve eaten lack sweetness. Still no FF under the net though.

Final crop of the Tropical Nectarines. Many fell and rotted and the remaining crop was disappointing this year in quantity and flavour.

Some of the Jaboticaba and Nectarines have gone to make “Shrub” – an easy to make cordial from fresh fruits. RECIPE

My beloved little Moringa is still doing it’s imitation of a dead stick but I am confident it will come good.

I tried many times to establish Pigeon Pea without success. This one came up by itself and has flowered and produced pods without me noticing.

Pepino are flowering in abundance. Hopefully this will mean more fruit before the fruit fly come.

NOTE: 31.10.15 FF have ruined every fruit – all has to be binned.

The Dwf Wurtz avo has bloomed once again but does not seem to attract the pollinators. I’ve seen one bee on it and a couple of flies.

NOTE: 31.10.15 No sign of any fruit forming. We have had discussion about multi graft plants. That’s what I need!

In the back yard the Dwf Macadamia is blooming really well and attracting bees. Very pretty.

One of my honey bees fertising the flowers.

19.10.15 Little nuts are forming. All silvery with potential.

08.11.15 Fruit development three weeks later. Astounding growth.

22.11.15 two weeks later again.

Quite a few nuts are falling to the ground. Hope I end up with some left.

NOTE: Now 29/11 and I noticed about a week back that every nut has fallen off. We had some very hot days but I was giving the plant water a couple of times a week.

20.09.11 The three raised beds have all been chopped back leaving just a few perennial plants and replanted. This is before…

…and after. Broccoli has been left to go to seed as it was such a goody. The other two brassicas didn’t produce anything. I suspect they may turn out to be a couple of Portuguese Walking Stick Collards (they are – must have planted some seed there).

All beds have been dosed with MycoAppply mychorrizae. The corn seedlings are very strong whether due to this or loving the composted horse poo they are planted in. Probably both.

31.10.15 Corn is silking up. Was able to shake down some pollen this morning despite some rain the last few days.

One month later, the final crop. Lots of mid sized cobs but they seem well filled.

19.09.15 Still cropping the Roma toms. Not much good for a sandwich but I’ve been turning them into soup with some onion, garlic and nopales. Bit of chicken stock and seasoning and it’s very nice put through the blender.

NOTE: 31.10.15 Romas finished some weeks ago. While not thrilled with the sandwich potential from these fruit they were useful and tasty enough for me to squeeze some seed back into the beds. If they do ok, great. If not, no huge loss.

19.09.15 Some of the roma toms and broccoli – the most delicious I have every grown it just kept on coming.

31.10.15 This wonderful Broccoli is still in the process of setting seed. Very slow to bolt.

The white choko is making a strong comeback. I have another growing on the back fence. Lacking a green one at the moment – bought a giant fruit from the fruit shop yesterday and planted it on a side fence.

06.09.15 I’ve managed to grow a few spuds this year. More growing around the edge of the compost pile yet to be cropped.

This plethora of yummy came from gardening mate Rob’s yard. Mulberries, native raspberries and Davidson Plums which I have become very fond of as a refreshing fruit drink in water. No sugar added.

12.09.15 Pepino have been providing plenty of fruit.

31.10.15 Now all ruined by FF. Not an untouched fruit to be had. All binned.

One of two Mashua Tropaeolum tuberosum plants courtesy of Jan’s research and buying abilities. A relative of the nasturtium it’s a climber with edible tubers. All the way from sunny Tasmania so we’re all hoping they like it here in Qld.

16.11.15 Neither of these plants are liking the heat. They don’t look well. Hopefully they will survive summer.

29.11.15 Both plants have died back completely as has Elaine’s.

31.10.15 This plant has actually put on a substantial amount of growth. Didn’t realise until I compared these two photos. It’s also putting out shoots from the base. Apparently these plants can go quite rampant in their growing habits :/

29.11.15 Plants have both died back completely.

12.09.15 Thought I would show you what my kitchen scrap bin looks like after a couple of weeks of saving bits and pieces. I do use a sprinkle or two of Bokashi in it but to be honest I did this for years with just a bucket and had no smell or problems.

I take this outside and scrape a shallow depression near some fruit tree and cover it with grass clippings. The worms take care of recycling the lot in a matter of weeks.

Warrigal Greens are making a comeback in the spot I thought they had died out in. I am very fond of these useful native greens (high in Oxalic Acid).

Another wild edible, Samphire, has proven to be a bit of a disappointment. I would like to try these growing in the wild. I bet the flavour would be better. Pictures I have found on the net show a PLANT with more segmented leaves than these. I’m wondering if I have two different plants in there?

23.09.15 Lebanese Cuc seed coming up. Always a thrill when seedlings show through the soil from seed planted.

22.11.15 Getting some good crop of cucs.

Planted or still growing early this season:

Potatoes; Bitter Melon, Okra x Robs big jobs and Burgundy; Hairy Melon; Corn x swt and bicolour; Peanuts; Watermelon “Stars & Moon”; Capsicum x “Sweet”, “Mini” and “Cubanale” along with seed from store bought minis; Kale; Canadian Wild Lettuce/A Choi; toms x various minis; Portuguese Walking Stick Collard Greens; Chillis – various; Mashua; Bolivian Cuc; Lebanese Cuc; herbs of all sorts; Swt Potato x 3 sorts; Silverbeet x “Rhubarb” and “Ruby”; Carrot x “Amarillo”, “Rainbow Mix” and “Berlicum”; Eggplant x “Black Beauty”, “Bringal White” and “Listadia di Gandia”; Snake Bean unknown; Huazontle Spinach.

05.10.15

Labour Day holiday – no pay but it’s a glorious day to be having off. Temp is superb, birds are singing everywhere, seeds are coming up in my new season garden. The only carrot seed that have sprouted are the Rainbow Mix. None of the others have shown so I will need to replant….or not.

The corn is growing fabulously. Okra of all types is peeking above ground as are the cucs. Eggplant haven’t shown.

Every time I buy some mini capsicum I take the seed out and plant it and there are dozens of these plants coming up all over the place. Love them. Watermelon have sprouted but the Hairy/Winter Melon hasn’t shown.

I have squeezed in some of Pat Pierce’s Red Noodle Snake Bean seeds alongside the other snake beans. Probably not the best for seed saving but I want to see how they grow.

Rob, Elaine and I have been doing some crop swapping. My pawpaw, Robs mulberries in exchange for Elaine’s gorgeous rainbow chard.

And thanks to J – I now have my favourite dwarf narnie back again 🙂

31.10.15 Growing well and putting out new leaves.

06.10.15 Since going back to work full time I’ve had trouble finding the appropriate time to go into the bee hive, check it all out and do some harvesting. Has to be a weekend day when it’s not raining, not too hot, the bees are mostly away foraging, I don’t have something else on. Easy to procrastinate.

Checked the hive yesterday and it looked like they might be preparing to swarm which gave me a jolt.

They were making a bee trellis outside the front of the hive. So I bit the bullet, put on the gear and went in. I removed three combs mostly full of honey. My extractor is very slow going (bucket system) and the tap just drizzles so it takes forever to fill a jar. Very few bee deaths though which is always a bonus. I use the smoker and brush as needed these days to avoid deaths.

Due to the slow nature of the buckets I only have a few jars at the moment and one has been swapped for some mulberries and manure.

To my surprise the Dwf Pink Shatoot mulberry had ripened a good handful of fruit in literally one day (I had checked it yesterday and found two). Very sweet.

31.10.15 Still cropping some of these each day. Youngest daughter has developed a taste for them also and goes for the bush when visiting.

31.10.15

We’ve had a few storms in areas around Strathpine but nothing more than some gentle rain here which has benefited the seedlings no end. Everything is doing well with the usual losses to Fruit Fly and a few cut worm problems with seedlings. Nothing serious, though I now have only one Burgundy Okra plant left but it should have grown to a size which is beyond the attentions of the CW.

I’ve been visiting the Caboolture Mkt a lot more recently for the lovely locally grown fruit and veg and can’t help picking up some seedlings at the same time.

The (self sown from buried fruit) Bitter Melon plant is producing it’s first fruit. Hardy and useful.

My honey bees are all over a huge amount of flowers on the old yellow Tamarillo. This plant is now getting on for five years old where normally they live for perhaps two. It just keeps getting bigger. Go figure.

28.10.15 Dwf Ducasse banana bunch ripening. Left the bunch on the porch the first night and some rodent came took a bite or two. Apart from those given away to friends, all going through the dehydrator.

16.11.15 The second bunch was all given away at the GV a couple of days back.

Pineapple forming – beautiful little purple flowers blooming.

01.11.15

I let my snails go free last night and this morning.

Left the lid up last night for them to leave but many were still hanging around in the box this morning. I have spread them around the yard and will provide basins of water as they are really very delicate and must have water to survive.

They don’t like being shut up as the weather warms up, even when the box is under full shade. There were just getting too many of them in one smallish space and it felt cruel keeping them there. Over the time I have been observing and feeding them in their box home I have come to love these gentle little creatures.

Hopefully some will thrive free ranging. The ones I currently find in the “wild” are eating fallen leaves and stuff on the compost pile. Very rarely do I find one in my vege bed. My hope is that they provide another layer to the animal life in my garden, eating and digesting fallen vegetation and providing poop in return.

09.11.15

The snails have set up home around the garden in various protected spots with lots of rotting plant material on the ground. Seems to be their favourite nibble though I do leave out offerings of Collard Greens etc and a container of water on the dry side of the yard.

16.11.15

I spent a back breaking hour yesterday removing the Pepino (due to Fruit Fly ruining all the fruit) from the nature strip outside the front fence and replanting with parsley and hardy flowering plants (the garden faces the western sun). That’s a bit of Aibika in the middle right that took from cutting shoved in and neglected and there’s a bit of Cassava and some Rosemary as well. Pepino fruit hanging off the fence and orange flowers are Pomegranates.

29.11.15 We’ve had some horrendously hot days and some of these flowering seedlings have died off, but many have survived with water a couple of times a week.

16.11.15 Michael H gave me some fruit some time back to grow these sweet little tom treats. I just keep replanting and they just keep coming up. Thank you Michael 🙂

21.11.15

Close to the end of spring and we’ve started having a few of those toasty hot days that the plants dislike so much and send people scurrying for the beach or air conditioned shopping centres.

My eldest daughter has just announced that she has accepted a Librarian job in Alice Springs. I checked the weather for AS and I think she will be grateful she will be working in an air conditioned building. At least I suppose it’s AC’d. Hot, dry place. Little greenery around apart from the gum trees.

Came home yesterday and the (unwanted, I just threw some branches on the ground and they rooted) Cassava had fallen from the sky into the vege bed and everything around it.

It’s been growing under the Custard Apple tree for some years and I’ve paid it no attention. While I was busy ignoring it it was busy reaching for the sky and eventually became too top heavy. Good survival plant to have around but not a lot of use to me at present.

All cut back and going to be binned this time.

I had really given up on the Lychee tree after many years of tiny crops and I mean tiny, like one or two fruit, but looked up at it yesterday and was stunned to see it covered in developing fruit. It’s been a funny old spring for flowering plants. They have gone berserk around Brisbane making it look like a giant colourful garden. Must have suited the flowers on the Lychee too.

Yummm can’t wait 😀

22.11.15 The Elderflower has grown to a good size (that’s the clothesline on the left) and is producing lots of flower heads for making drink. As warned by Elaine it is trying to sucker. I keep cutting these back.

22.11.15 Snake bean plants are growing well from saved seed. No idea of type. Some of Pat’s Red Snake Beans in there as well.

First of the Okra crop.

Orange flowering Leonotis leonurus. So far the insects are ignoring it but it is pretty.

One colour of the salvia growing around the place.

Pineapple Sage surrounding the native bee hives. Much loved by the bees.

A beautiful visitor munching away on the sweet potato leaves. It’s hide out given away by the giant poo.

Figs are liking the weather at the moment. Only a bit of insect activity on the leaves.

29.11.15

Spent a few productive hours this morning removing the Pepino from the front garden, chopping the male pawpaw in two (hopefully it will bunch up again and provide some western shade to the front of the house) and mulching everything with barrow loads of grass clippings which have been sitting for weeks.

Room for another plant!!

Graveyard where all the big stuff goes like the pawpaw and the banana plants. Let’s call it Hugelkulture, it’s a catchy name for a pile-o logs.

10 thoughts on “2015 SPRING – SEPTEMBER TO NOVEMBER”

  1. Lissa, this is amazing! Every single time I get one of your posts in my RSS Feed Reader I start to drool because I KNOW that there will be so much contained in it and I haven’t been let down yet :). OH this is magnificent. I wish I was your next door neighbour. We would be out, bums up, heads down, 24/7 swapping and sharing. I love the sense of community you have with your friends and just wish that I had the same growing potential that you guys do. Any chance if I sent you the postage that I could take advantage of some of those tropical fruit seeds? I would love to try some of them down here. Got to be some good come out of global warming and this year has been very dry so far. I love the way you just bung things in and pile up the manure. Cheers for the share on the mycoapply. Going to look into it. Our soil is thin and silty here over the top of a thick band of massive clay that sets like concrete in the summer (currently grade A concrete with our dry spring 😉 ) Doing our best with a veggie garden after a hard year at TAFE but wish I had more time and energy to be out there. Every time I read one of your posts it gets me enthusiastic all over again. I will be up in Sanctuary today thanks to you, and to this post. HUGE hugs from your number one fan in Tassie 🙂

    Like

    1. Ahhh 😀 thank you Fran. I get so much enjoyment and laughter from reading your creative posts, I’m glad you get something back from these.

      You name what you want in the seed line and it’s yours!! Small payment for the out-loud laughter and gorgeous photos of Tassie you give me with your posts.

      How about some Bitter Melon (don’t be put off by the name – it’s a hardy grower and a very useful veg for stir fry and casserole/stew), Bolivian Cucumber, Walking Stick Collard for starters? What else has caught your fancy?

      One of my English workmates mentioned the other day that she pictures me out in the garden at the weekend, forking stuff over in the heat like her old neighbour used to do. She has never heard of no-dig gardening apparently. I don’t dig or fork anything. Too old, too lazy. Most importantly it’s not good for the soil, microbes and animal life.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. With you on the no dig as if we tried to dig the “soil” here, we would have to agree that it was more “rockery” than anything else but we do have worms and it can be excellent if we build raised beds and let the soil microbes do the work. I am most interested in any seeds at all Lissa. I will do a “speriment” and will have a “lissa” plot whereby I will grow (if I can) anything you send and will plant it all out to run amok/riot here on Serendipity Farm. I love horticultural and gardening experiments. They tickle something inside me that needs a damned good thumping sometimes 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Lissa, saw your note about the white choko, I would love to get hold of some if you ever have some plantable fruit available.. Happy to trade you for a loaf of some wholegrain bread, or some home-made haloumi cheese, or an oyster mushroom kit, or something else of mine that may interest you.

    Best regards,
    Annette (posting under docrow)

    Like

  3. Hi Annette. Would be happy to send/give you a couple of fruit to grow. At the moment the plant is just beginning to produce some embryo fruit and flowers so will be a while before they are available. Keep in contact. Are you local in Brisbane? Not sure how I would get my choice of goodies you offer if you’re not 🙂

    Like

      1. You’re welcome to come visit Annette. I work but am home over the Easter break. It’s in transition for autumn at the moment but I hope to get down and dirty during the break. 0414445581

        We also organise Garden Visits through our online gardening group Brisbane Local Food http://brisbanelocalfood.ning.com/ Free to join and a place to have a good chat about food growing efforts. You might like to join up. We can chat there also.

        Like

Leave a Reply

